Agency Life

English, German & Spanish


 

I heard this joke once:

“bilingual” is someone who speaks two languages, “trilingual” is someone who speaks three languages.  What do you call someone who can only speak one language?  An American.

To this day it absolutely drives me insane. Probably because it’s pretty true. I didn’t want to be a part of that joke, so I downloaded Duolingo a while ago and started to learn Spanish. I’ve learned that it’s hard to learn a second language when there is no one to practice with. Though, I powered on.

I thought it would be interesting to learn two languages at one time. I started Portuguese but realized it’s really close to Spanish. I moved on to French, but I just wasn’t interested at all. What’s next? German.

German always intimidated me. It’s such a different language, but I thought what the heck. I will give it a go.

I LOVE IT. 😍

There is something about the sharpness of the pronunciation of the words along with the excitement you can have saying some of the phrases. For example, Halo! Guten Morgen! means, Hello! Good Morning!

I can’t help but envision the shopkeeper from Frozen, Oaken as I’m practicing the language. It makes me happy.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 2.01.20 AM.png

I try to practice once a day with a few lessons that only take about 15-20 minutes. Eventually, I would like to do more, though something that has helped with practicing the language is set up an Instagram and only follow German Instagrammers. That way I have to read the posts in German and then comment back in German. I wish there was a way like that to practice vocally, but I will figure something out.

Do you speak more than one language? What languages do you speak?