Agency Life, Campaigns, Food

Krispy Kreme #DayoftheDozens


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today, Krispy Kreme offered a BOGO deal for people to buy one dozen of glazed donuts and get one dozen glazed donuts free. You just had to bring this coupon below in to the store.

After screenshotting the video, I jumped in the car and headed to the Krispy Kreme a few miles away.

When I got there, there was a line of people who I’m guessing just figured out they had a few hours left to cash in their coupons. Though what I saw saddened me. The location I was at ran out of glazed donuts and people were not happy. Some people were yelling, some walked out and the line got shorter and shorter. By the time I got up to order, I knew I was in for something fun.

I told the manager that I had the coupon, and I began to see worry cross his face. He told me they didn’t have any glazed donuts left and started to tell me what they did have left. He went through all the filled donuts (no wonder, who eats filled donuts anyway, gross) and I simply asked if I bought a box of a certain donut, would they give me a second box of those same donuts for free? The manager stood there for a minute and finally told me he would and could do that.

The people around me started to perk up. There was a solution, just because they were out of glazed donuts didn’t mean they couldn’t honor the coupon with other donuts.

There is something about me that wonders why the manager didn’t think about it when dealing with the other consumers. I feel like we see people on both sides, consumer and company, that don’t think about being flexible. Why wouldn’t something else work? What could happen that would benefit both sides?

People are looking for free donuts, the company is looking to sell donuts. Does it really matter what kind of donuts are being given away as long as they are equal or lesser value?

The world is not black and white and there is almost always a solution to a problem. After spending the last five months as an entrepreneur, those are just a couple of the lessons I’ve learned and they couldn’t have been any clearer tonight.

I was reminded about the offer when I was watching the Season Finale of the Amazing Race. I caught the end of the taping with the local news anchor talking about the offer being today.