Family

Role Models from Above


Tagged: , ,

I wrote on the topic of being a hand letterer today on my Geooorge Co. blog. It’s something that means a lot to me and helps me feel connected to two men I wish were still around.

My great-grandfather, Alva, opened the Cobler Sign Co. in 1932. I can still see the sign that stood in front of the shop for so many years. He was a very skilled man, he was friends with Walt Disney and traveled to California to assist in the animation of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

My grandfather took over the shop when my great-grandfather retired and was insanely good at what he did. He was good at the development of the creative and also the sales. People loved my grandfather and still talk about him to this day.

My grandfather passed away three months before I was born and sadly never got to meet him. He’s become a sort of legend in my life and there are many times I hope he’s here with me.

I have my great-grandfather’s fedora hanging on the wall in my office as inspiration to continue to move forward and make something of myself. They were incredibly entrepreneurs and as I focus on starting my own agency I tend to spend time channeling them.

Here’s to making the family proud.