Birthdays

Happy 60th Birthday Dad!


OH. MY. GAWD. My father is 60!! Haha I can’t believe it. Though no matter his age, he will always be my hero.

To celebrate my Pops and his sixty years on this planet here are the ten things I love the most about him.

  1. He’s a family man. 
    My dad looks out for the family first. He makes sure we have everything we need and goes out of his way to make sure we are safe and covered.
  2. He’s a dog lover.
    We have always had dogs. From itty bitty dachshunds to mid sized boxers to gentle giant mastiffs. My dad plays with them, rough houses and always makes sure they have clean purified water in their bowls.
  3.  He’s Responsible.
    I’ve never seen someone decide to do something and see it through the way my dad does. He’s got superpower willpower. Sometimes it makes me jealous.
  4. He’s Encouraging.
    When I was going back and forth trying to decide whether or not to go to grad school. My dad told me I was going. People can take everything from you, but they can’t take your education. That next year, I moved to Austin.
  5. He’s a teacher.
    One Christmas, he took me to Toys R Us and said, “You can have any one thing in this store you want.” Remember, in the 90’s things were somewhat reasonably priced. He walked through the entire store with me, every single aisle, up and down maybe six or seven times until I finally made a decision and was good with it. This taught me to really think about what I wanted and then have the courage to stand by my decision.
  6. He’s creative.
    My dad helped me build a Chitty Chitty Bang Bang car out of a cereal box in elementary school. It had wings and workable wheels.
  7. He’s a funny guy.
    My dad and I have the same sense of humor, sometimes at the expense of my mother. He has taught me that laughter is so important and to not take things so seriously.
  8. He’s into health and fitness.
    My dad quit smoking and drinking cold turkey when I was younger. My parents were the reason I never felt the need to do either of those things. He also started working out daily. He lost a lot of weight and constantly encourages leading a healthy lifestyle.
  9. He’s a romantic.
    My mama is a lucky lady. My dad isn’t really the romantic type, but he does little things for my mama that makes her feel special and loved. I love seeing them still so happy and in love after so many years.
  10. He’s a good man.
    Let’s be honest, my dad is just a fucking awesome guy. No one can ever fill his shoes, nor would I want them too.

That’s definitely not all the great things about my dad but definitely a great list. I know his day is going to be filled with love and laughter. Here’s to another 60!