Agency Life

Red Pantyhose


My family was in town this week and every time they come to town I seem to learn something I did when I was younger. Apparently, I was as feisty then as I am now.

The year was 1988. I was four. My parents had gone to bed early and I was up with the rest of my family who was in town visiting.

When it was finally time for me to go to bed, I found clothes my mom had laid out for me. It was a purple dress. I have never liked purple, so I proceeded to march into my parent’s bedroom and wake them up because I wanted to wear my red dress.

My mom has just been woken up from a dead sleep mind you and we are arguing back and forth. I guess I had worn the red dress a few days before and it was in the hamper. After what my aunt recalls as two to three minutes of going back and forth my mom gives in and says she doesn’t care just get the dress and go to bed.

I am now pleased with myself. I shut the door and make it half-way down the hallway before turning back around and opening the door again. I proceed to tell my parents that I also need to wear my red pantyhose too, shut the door again and am on my way.

This might not be funny to anyone else though my family still thinks this story is hilarious 27 years later.

Bless my mother for not getting out of bed and beating my ass.